Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In
You're here: Portal SGH > English > Aktualność

Cooperation between SGH and European Trade Study Group

2/22/2018 dpir category: information 

The SGH Rector Professor Marek Rocki and Professor Ian Wooton have signed an agreement, according to which the SGH Warsaw School of Economics will host this year’s edition of a prestigious conference on international trade. 

European Trade Study Group (ETSG) is a non-profit academic association focused on researching international economic cooperation. Annual ETSG conferences are the largest and the most influential meetings of researchers in the field of international economics held in Europe. Each year, about 350 economists participate in the conference, representing universities and research institutes not only from Europe (as the name of the ETSG might misleadingly suggest) but from all over the world. Thus, the ETSG conferences enable meetings between forefront economists of Harvard, Princeton, London School of Economics, World Bank or World Trade Organisation and younger economists from lesser known academic institutions. For many years now, scholars of the SGH Warsaw School of Economics have participated in those conferences. Programmes of the previous nineteen ETSG conferences (including author’s names and affiliations) can be found at​. 

On the ETSG scientific committee, there sit academics from various leading universities and institutions, for instance Marius Brülhart of University of Lausanne, Paola Conconi of Université Libre de Bruxelles (ECARES), Peter Egger of ETH Zurich, Robert Elliot of University of Birmingham, Rod Falvey of Bond University, Gabriel Felbermayr of Ifo Institute Munich, Lionel Fontagné of Paris School of Economics, Joseph Francois of University of Bern, James Markusen of University of Colorado, Jan J. Michałek of  University of Warsaw, J. Peter Neary z University of Oxford, Lucia Tajoli z Politecnico di Milano, Hylke Vandenbussche z University of Leuven, Julia Woerz z National Bank of Austria, Ian Wooton z University of Strathclyde, Maurizio Zanardi z Lancaster University). The SGH also has its representative on the scientific committee – prof. dr hab. Elżbieta Czarny. 

The ETSG is particularly interested in supporting young economists, who may be eligible to take part in special competitions for best paper submissions. The prizes are awarded by the Review of World Economics (ROWE) and by the WTO.


The ETSG conference at the SGH, September 2018

The 20th edition of the European Trade Study Group conference will take place between 13-15 September 2018 at the SGH Warsaw School of Economics.

Usually, „Call for papers” invitation is issued towards the end of February and the deadline for abstract submission falls to the end of April. We strongly encourage that you read the terms of participation at​ and subscribe to the ETSG newsletter, so that you will be up-to-date regarding this, as well as other conferences organised by ETSG: 

Professor Elżbieta Czarny, Ph. D. – head of the local committee
Andżelika Kuźnar, Ph. D. – head of the organising committee

News Archive